Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Truck Sales

Southwest: 2003 F150 7700 Very nice condition

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2014, 06:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 F150 7700 Very nice condition

I bought this F150 in June of 2012 with 109500 miles, and thanks to these F-150 Forums, I started to mildly modify it to get it just like I like it. Now it has the Gotts mod, electric fans with the DCC controller from Brian Baskins, dual exhaust, and an SCT tuner from MPT with 3 custom tunes. I should probably explain that I am 56 years old and mainly just use this truck to commute 18 mi. each day to Sedona Az., where I work as a building inspector. This truck would make a really cool, high school kid's truck, or just a really nice ride for an older guy like me.
As soon as I got it, I changed the rear-end grease, converted the truck to synthetic oil, flushed the transmission with BG synthetic transmission fluid and put new tires on it. The tires are still in great condition.
My first modification was a Spectre, re-cleanable air filter and then the Gotts mod. (I didn't notice as much difference in performance as I thought I would.) I then installed the electric fans, (used Ford Windstar fans with shroud purchased from Summit Racing-the original fan and shroud come with the truck in the sale). I ordered the DCC (50p35) fan controller from Brian Baskin and have been nothing but happy with it since I installed it. It comes on just as programmed by Brian. It has a red LED on the dash that runs green until the fan needs to come on, then turns redder as the fans turn faster. They only run as fast as they need to. The truck has never gotten past mid range on the temp gauge since I installed this system. I really like these fans and noticed a difference in acceleration as soon as I installed them.