Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

What's up with this spark plug I just took out?

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2018, 12:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's up with this spark plug I just took out?

Hey guys, admittedly total noob at wrenching so I'm a bit stumped. Changing spark plugs today and the third plug (from front) on passenger side came out fine but looks like the following. I didn't realize after taking it out that it looked like this so I went ahead normally trying to put the new plug in its place. I did so by hand to get it started so I didn't cross thread but I was really struggling. It would turn a little and tighten a bit but then it would hit a point where it would not tighten anymore; would just spin. I started panicking that I cross threaded even though I was only using my hand. However, I was able to take the plug out and try again. After taking it out and trying again multiple times ( I lost track ) I finally decided to inspect the original plug which looks like the following. After seeing it in this state as it clearly looks very different from a normal plug I then tried putting the original plug back in so I could at least use the truck and voila it went in with relatively no problems and I was able to torque it down to 20 ft. lbs. So now I'm stumped. Why does the original plug look like that, can thread no problem, and is able to be torqued fully, but a new plug will not go in at all? Why does the original plug appear to have 2 thread sizes on it?

Old 09-10-2018, 12:16 AM

Received 5,562 Likes on 4,638 Posts

Besides being lean, it has a Heli-coil Klingon.
The following users liked this post:
rsylvstr (09-10-2018)
Old 09-10-2018, 12:44 AM

Received 1,264 Likes on 1,083 Posts

Compare that plug to a normal plug, side by side, and you'll see the difference. You need to get a thread insert of the proper length. The one the PO used is too short, and came out with the plug.