Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Transmission/rear diff fluid flush and change

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2012, 12:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission/rear diff fluid flush and change

how hard is it to accomplish these tasks? i hit 109,000 miles and i figure its time to change it out and new plugs etc.. i know i can do plugs but I have never done tranny flush. im not a complete novice and have a friend help. whats all required to change these fluids , any info would be helpful , thanks
Old 08-03-2012, 12:57 PM
Romp It!

Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts

Differential is easy just pop the cover off clean out all the fluid and reseal and refill. A full tranny flush you'll have to drain the torque converter and drop the tranny pan
Old 08-03-2012, 12:59 PM

Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts

I assume you mean a transmission service. A flush would require a tranny flusher. A service is quite simple. Remove the trans. pan (careful-it's FULL) Thoroughly clean the pan & magnet. The hard rubber gasket is re-usable and better than the soft cork style that comes with the kit. You then need to remove the filter and the filter grommet. Install the new grommet and be sure it's properly seated. Push the filter neck up into it and position it the same way as the old one.Re-install the pan and torque pan bolts to 100lbs/in.Fill the trans. with fluid. Road test it and re-check fluid level.