Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

swap rear end-disc to drums

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2017, 10:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default swap rear end-disc to drums

I have a 2000 f150 4.6L that has some rear end noise and I'm trying to figure out the best way to fix it. I opened it up and found some broken teeth on the spider gears and the right axle gear. I'm an okay mechanic when it comes to pulling stuff apart and replacing with identical parts. The problem I am having is that the truck has a LS 3.55 gr, 8.8rg with disc brakes, but all I can find at local wreckers have drums. I know its a downgrade on the brakes (and probably a downgrade to non-LS) but I want to get it back up and running so I'm wondering if this would be a simple swap?
Old 09-26-2017, 01:41 AM

Received 964 Likes on 742 Posts

Probably not simple. The parking brake cables will almost certainly have to be changed, along with the brake lines. Next is the driveshaft, it may or may not bolt up. Finally there is pressure proportioning. Switching to drums will almost surely put you weak at the rear and you may need to install a different master cylinder. I think it could be quite the can of worms. What trucks are you looking at with drums? Sounds like pre-97 to me.
Old 09-26-2017, 04:18 AM

Received 2,508 Likes on 1,818 Posts

Perry its not so bad. I did the reverse swap, drums to disc, and all I needed was the shorter right cable (rear from 2002 SCrew 139 wb into 120 wb). If it comes from a matching sized truck it is an easy swap. The brake master cyls are ok, prop valve ok, matches at the rear hose also. I took 2 hours and 4 minutes for a complete swap, bleed out, and cable exchanged. Braking is quite good still.
Old 09-26-2017, 08:54 AM

Received 502 Likes on 324 Posts

Why not just buy new gears and clutch pack and rebuild? As long as the ring and pinion are not changed you should not have to worry about "set up".