Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Sometimes 4x4 works

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2011, 12:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sometimes 4x4 works

I have a 98 f150 with manual 4x4 shift some times it works sometimes it doesn't. The times it doesnt work I can pull the lever back no light no power to the front wheels the only thing it does is grind as I come to a stop then it makes a loud bang I can shift it in and out a bunch of times and it won't work but sometimes it will work eventually. The times it does work the 4x4 light comes on the front tires pull nicely and there is no grinding at all it also doesn't slip out of 4x4 either. Both have the same feel for distance as to how far the lever will pull back. I love the 4x4 in that truck when it works. I'm just a college student however I am studying to become a ford technician but this problem has me confused. Has anyone ever had trouble with this? Advice would be great thanks
Old 09-15-2011, 01:10 AM

Received 105 Likes on 93 Posts

remove the vacume pod and shift fork from the front diff and lube the fork with wd-40 moving it back and forth, reinstall and try it.and fyi.. when engaging 4x4- stop and put in neutral. pull it back to 4x4 then put in reverse and back up 10 feet then put it in drive and test if it works. if its going to engage thats the best way to engage it.
Old 09-15-2011, 12:56 PM

Ok I'll try the WD40. I usually do the neutral thing and all those steps for proper 4x4 shifting but I got fed up with it and wanted to see if moving would help.
Old 09-15-2011, 01:32 PM

Originally Posted by Rbarr
Ok I'll try the WD40. I usually do the neutral thing and all those steps for proper 4x4 shifting but I got fed up with it and wanted to see if moving would help.