Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Newb question, 4x4 tire slip

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2014, 08:26 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Newb question, 4x4 tire slip

So today I got stuck in my nearly flat driveway in the icy snow. I had to unit in 4wd and I still had to rock it out. All four wheels were on ice so I could stick my head out the windows and hit the gas and watch the tires spin. What I found strange is that the front passenger side tire spun and the rear tires both spun. I am by no means a mechanical genius, but aren't both front wheels supposed to spin? Or is it like in my car when one tire breaks lose the other does not get any power? Thanks.
Old 02-04-2014, 08:30 PM

Received 88 Likes on 72 Posts

Yep. open diff up front
The following users liked this post:
striker1211 (02-04-2014)
Old 02-04-2014, 08:46 PM

Received 523 Likes on 386 Posts

Unless you have locker never will all 4 tires spin. Good Limited Slip and Open Differentials. I use to have a good thread on this, but Idk what I did with it.

Thats very normal.
Old 02-04-2014, 09:22 PM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Indulge us with your knowledge ibd2328 I'm interested
Old 02-04-2014, 10:41 PM

Received 88 Likes on 72 Posts

Search....all this has been covered over and over and over again.
Old 02-04-2014, 10:50 PM

Received 109 Likes on 90 Posts