Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

Idle changed after maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2017, 01:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Idle changed after maintenance

Hi everybody. Forgive me if I don't make sense, I'm a fledgling home mechanic/enthusiast; I'll try to be extremely thorough. If I use the wrong terminology or phrasing let me know! I'm here to learn. So here goes:

A friend and I replaced the serpentine belt on my 1997 f150 (4.6L V8) because I discovered a split running the whole length of the belt and figured that didn't seem like a great thing! I've owned the truck now for just a couple weeks. I previously owned a 2000 expedition (5.4L) and loved it but needed a "truck" truck. Already I know some things are different between the two engine-wise, so I'm still having an adjustment period getting used to the feel.
So the thing I'm wondering about is that prior to changing the belt I would generally notice the truck idling around 1000rpm or better in park, 800rpm or better in gear, which seemed high? Maybe not, new truck, still learning. However, after changing the belt it seems like about 750rpm in park and 550-600rpm in gear. I did have a code register after the work, but there was a loose hose which I put back in place (removed air intake for more working room) and now it's running really smooth, just lower rpm at idle. Any reason or explanation for this?? Thanks so much in advance for any helping replies! Looking forward to being part of the community!
Old 10-09-2017, 01:12 PM

Received 5,554 Likes on 4,631 Posts

Warm idle should 730 RPM and never flinch. Between 700-750 is good according to Ford. But when everything is right, they idle about right in middle o that 725/730.

800 and 1000 is far out of spec and is usually caused by an unmetered air leak.
Old 10-09-2017, 01:23 PM