Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

2003 F150 Collision Repair

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2018, 06:39 PM

Received 1,355 Likes on 1,072 Posts

Default 2003 F150 Collision Repair

Hey guys, I got into an accident last week and have ordered all new front end parts. My issue is that I don't have much back ground in painting.

I was able to straighten my mounts out and got it halfway decent until the new parts go on.

I picked up a new grille surround and bumper pad that are both unpainted.

What steps do I need to take to spray them at home and look halfway decent? Thanks for the input ahead of time guys.

Last edited by jprevat; 10-17-2018 at 06:57 PM.
Old 10-17-2018, 08:01 PM

Received 6,481 Likes on 4,617 Posts

I'm no professional, and I know just enough to be dangerous. First, I suggest you go to an AUTO paint store, and get auto paint only. They can either make it to your paint code, or if you have a good shop, they can mix it by eye. I've got a guy here in SLC that can mix anything by eye. A decent auto body shop will also be able to put it in a spray can for you, eliminating the need for a paint gun. The best paint I've found to work with is PPG and Metalux.

Obviously you're going to want to scuff it a bit then primer it. A scotch brite pad is good enough for this. Then the big choice is, do you want a one step (acrylic enamel) or base/clear? For what you're doing..... if it were mine, I'd go acrylic enamel. If you do want to do clear, they sell that by the can as well. It will have have an activator you push into the bottom of the can..... then it needs to be used within 24 hours.
Old 10-17-2018, 08:05 PM

Did your header panel break? The headlights look a little tweaked.
Old 10-17-2018, 08:31 PM

Received 249 Likes on 217 Posts

Are you painting just the grill shroud? Or are you going to color match the rest?
Old 10-17-2018, 08:45 PM

Received 486 Likes on 273 Posts