Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

1999 5.4 losing coolant internally

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2024, 09:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 5.4 losing coolant internally

I have a 1999 5.4L, 2-valve, 4WD, automatic with approx 135,000 miles that I inherited two years ago so I've never worked on this engine before. I only put about 500 miles on the truck per year because it is parked at a farm about 30 miles away that I also inherited.

It recently and suddenly developed a pretty bad internal coolant leak. The only symptoms right now are considerable coolant loss from the radiator reservoir and LOTS of smoke/water-vapor out the exhaust when I crank it cold and of course a skip/mis-fire until all the coolant is purged by pressure and heat. There is no hard evidence of coolant in the oil and no oil in the coolant reservoir as of now. No leaks anywhere on or under the engine nor in the valley between the heads. I suspect bad head gasket but have just started diagnosing the issue. (NOTE: The truck has probably only been driven 30-50 miles since the smoke/vapor started pouring out the exhaust.)

I've been reading a lot here but need two specific question answered (and probably others later). (1) Does any coolant actually flow THROUGH the intake manifold. (2) How do I keep the ignition from firing when I start turning the engine over to check for compression leaks after pulling the COPs and plugs. (Probably not good to let it continue firing during that time.)

Thanks for your help.

Last edited by CaptKirk; 05-01-2024 at 10:50 AM.
Old 05-01-2024, 02:50 AM

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

(1) Does any coolant actually flow THROUGH the intake manifold.
Yes
(2) How do I keep the ignition from firing when I start turning the engine over to check for compression leaks after pulling the COPs and plugs. (Probably not good to let it continue firing during that time.)