Topic Sponsor
1997 - 2003 Ford F150 General discussion on the Ford 1997 - 2003 F150 truck.

1998 F150 4.6L missfire cyl 3

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2012, 11:03 PM

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default 1998 F150 4.6L missfire cyl 3

im new to the Ford scene and a few weeks ago i bought a 98 F150XLT with the 4.6L in it. for the first 2 weeks i had it drove it around and had no problems with it. the check engine light was on when i bought it but when i drove it before i bought it, it ran wonderful. now for the past 2 weeks its been running like a miss fire so i had the check engine light ran. i cant remember the code it pulled up but it said it was a missfire in cyl 3, or wither high/low fuel pressure. i have been reading diff post on here about what to change and check, i changed the pcv valve, and tomm will do plugs wires, fuel filter, air filter, and will check for any vaccum leaks. does any body have any other advice on what to change or check that isnt to complicated of a job? any advice will be greatly appreciated since i am new to the Ford. thanks in advance
Old 03-30-2012, 11:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My 97 4.6 also had a 3rd cylinder misfire. I changed all the plugs and plug wires and everything is fine now. I suggest u start with those first. If that doesn't fix the problem it could be a bad coil pack or a fuel injector.
Old 03-31-2012, 07:54 AM

ok thanks. ya im hoping thats all it is. gona change the plugs and wires and a few other things like the fuel filter and fix an oil leak i have on the oil cooler hose today but hopefully the plugs and wires fix it.thanks for your input though i appreciate it.
Old 03-31-2012, 08:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts