Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

just changed rear diff oil

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2010, 06:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default just changed rear diff oil

I bought my 04 screw 4x4 about 6 weeks ago. I decided to change the rear diff oil since I have no idea if and when it has been done. It had a slight howl under acceleration. I drained the oil and it was very dirty. I cleaned all the inside with brake clean and filled it up with 75W140 LUCAS Synthetic oil and Ford friction modifier.

Its been a week since I changed the oil and and its alot worse than before. Any ideas why? Is this oil ok? Or should I have used a different brand?

Thanks
Old 05-20-2010, 07:51 PM

i am no mechanic so i am not the best to answer this but the fluid is mixed its not pure sythetic its like a 50/50 plus the ford friction cream
Old 06-03-2010, 02:08 AM

spraying it with brake kleen may not have been the best as it dries everything up
Old 06-03-2010, 02:13 AM
SoCal Thread Shredder

ill ask my dad about that since he is a mechanic but i dont think that was a good idea with the brake cleaner
Old 06-03-2010, 09:37 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I can't imagine brake cleaner did it any favors, but I think your biggest problem was the SYNTHETIC OIL. See when you use regular oil it builds up gunk in the corners and crevices everywhere. When you put synthetic oil in, it is a much cleaner oil and will break up those gunk deposits, and will circulate all those chunks through the gears and whatever else is in there causing damage. Just like in your engine. If you start your truck with Synthetic, great stay with it, but don't go back and forth. I would change it again VERY soon and put regular oil back into it.

I am NOT a mechanic but I did stay at a holiday in last night. I hope this helped.
Old 06-03-2010, 10:29 AM