Instrument Cluster R/R - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Instrument Cluster R/R

 
Old 03-05-2019, 01:57 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Goergia
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Instrument Cluster R/R

Where, what and would be the best, easiest and cheapest way to replace dash instrument cluster and can cluster w/tachometer work/fit in model without tach option as I have base model STX 4X4? Please help, thank you.
Atlantean777 is offline  
Old 03-07-2019, 10:34 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Jojodapyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 342
Thanked 31 Times in 28 Posts
Default

I replaced my XLT cluster with and FX4 cluster when mine stopped working. I found it on EBay for what I think was a Typo Price ($38.00 when they were going for around $400). Plug and play. Everything worked as it should.
Jojodapyro is offline  
Old 03-07-2019, 11:10 AM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

And it's not difficult at all to replace yourself.

1. Remove lower kick panel cover (2 screws on the bottom, near the pedals)
2. Remove 2 screws for upper dash panel, previously covered by the kick panel
3. Using a plastic scraper, or similar non-marking tool, wedge between the front of the upper panel and the grey part of the dash, and pry the panel towards yourself. There's two clips on the front "arms" that are on either side of the IC, and two more on top.
4. Lift the front upper panel about 2 inches, then pull the entire upper panel towards you. Upper will slide out. There may be two plugs to disconnect (pedal position and infocenter control buttons)
5. Remove IC connectors by depressing plastic "catch" then rotate the cam lever all the way up. Then remove the four screws holding the IC in place. IC will lift out.
fuxxy is offline  
Old 03-07-2019, 08:10 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
2008__XL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Vermont
Posts: 1,841
Thanked 238 Times in 213 Posts
Default

If you have an 04-06, get a cluster from one of those years. 07-08 has TPMS and those previous years don’t. Since you have a base model truck, you have manual ac. Make sure said cluster of also from a donor truck that had manual ac. If you get a lariat cluster or something else high end, your ac will no longer function.

If you have an 07-08, stick with the same rules and also with a cluster from those two years only.

2008__XL is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 05:44 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
cobyF150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey , quick question for ya. I have a 2007 F-150 and its base model. without the tach. I hate how simple it looks and want the 4x4 cluster but they arent compatiable since the gear shift to mine is on the colum and the 4x4 is in the console. how would i get the look but with my truck?
cobyF150 is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 07:50 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Screwed05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 220
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

You can use a XLT cluster or a FX2/ FX4. The PRNDL slips out the bottom of the cluster. There is 2 tabs underneath the PRNDL 1 on each side gently squeeze them toward each other. Keep in mind when changing the cluster the milage will be whatever that cluster has. So, you will need to go to the deal to have the mileage adjusted to what your truck really has.

Here is my swap notice that the FX clusters have FX2/FX4 and mine has PRNDL.



Screwed05 is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 09:30 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
cobyF150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so all you did was buy the new fancy Fx4 then took the decrotive piece out of where the PRNDL is? does your dome light work and the AC still work? those are some problem ive heard people having.
cobyF150 is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 09:29 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Screwed05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 220
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by cobyF150 View Post
so all you did was buy the new fancy Fx4 then took the decrotive piece out of where the PRNDL is? does your dome light work and the AC still work? those are some problem ive heard people having.

I bought it used on Ebay. Everything works perfectly. You are hearing that because you can't use the Lariat, Harley, or KR cluster. Because those trucks have the auto hvac.
Screwed05 is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 06:10 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
2008__XL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Vermont
Posts: 1,841
Thanked 238 Times in 213 Posts
Default

Keep in mind, the 07-08s behave differently than 04-06 when replacing clusters. The older trucks seem to have no issues at all.

When i replaced fhe cluster in my 08 (xl to xlt) I lost operation of the dome light when opening the door, any sounds from the cluster, etc. everything else including TPMS worked correctly.

4wd variants and 2wd does not affect what cluster you use.

Just make sure it’s from an 07-08 and from a truck that has manual AC.

The PRNDL is just clipped in. Remove it and replace into the new cluster. If the new cluster came from a truck with a consol shift, the PRNDL area will just have a blackout, sport or fx4 piece clipped in. You can easily remove that and add your PRNDL.
2008__XL is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Instrument Cluster R/R


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: