Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Front Axle

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2016, 10:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Front Axle

While installing a 6” inch lift on my 2006 F150 4x4, the front passenger axle slid right out with no resistance after I removed the CV half shaft. I have never worked on front diffs before so I assumed this shouldn’t happen. Went to the dealership to see if there should have been a snap ring. Apparently there is a circlip. I ordered the circlip. After it arrived, I realized I have never seen the design before and have no clue how it is used. Can anyone tell me how I am supposed to use this part on the axle? I looked on the shorter driver side and it definitely uses a snap ring.

The brand new circlip that came in from Ford.

Front Axle, Passenger Side

Close-up of Front Axle's Splines

Close up of Spline and circlip

Passenger side of the front diff where the axle slides in. The axle tube is removed.

On the left is the spline the axle slides in and ends up. This is a pic of inside the diff.

One the left, passenger axle inserted. No resistance.

View of how the driver side (short axle inserts)

The driver side axle uses a snap ring.

Please help... I'd like to get the diff put together today so I can put it back in and finish the lift.
Old 09-16-2016, 11:28 PM

Received 131 Likes on 121 Posts

Will the clip fit in that groove otherwise you'll have to get a snap ring
Old 09-17-2016, 02:46 PM

Originally Posted by Krack499
Will the clip fit in that groove otherwise you'll have to get a snap ring