Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

2008 f-150, 4r75e over drive some times works

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2017, 04:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2008 f-150, 4r75e over drive some times works

Hello, This is my first time on the site, and hoping that some one can help me.
I have a 2008 F-150 4x4 with a 5.4, and a 4R75E transmission. 132,000 miles
The problem is that the over drive will work some times and not some times not
The trans shifts smooth, and has no shutter. Some days the trans over drive will work just fine, and then the next time it might not work for a couple of days. I have check for codes on the engine and trans and there are none. We have gone into the KAM and reset the driver learning system, and it will work for about a day, then no over drive.
The tester shows that the overdrive switch is responding to the tester when it is on and off. I have taken it to a local trans shop and they said that it has no codes, and they cannot duplicate the problem. they had kept it for 4 days. I had the trans filter and fluid change there and they said that there was very little particles in the trans pan. I am wondering if it could be a faulty over drive solenoid or a weak solenoid. I know that if it was an electrical issue it would set a code in the computer. Is the solenoid active then it is in overdrive or is it cut off when when the switch is push on the shifter handle, then the light on the dash says OD OFF.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Grayhair
Old 10-23-2017, 09:13 AM

Does anyone have any thoughts on the post above?
Old 10-23-2017, 10:18 AM

Received 91 Likes on 77 Posts

Not sure about the electrical concern, which is something to be considered.