Tire pressure sensor malfunction - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.

Tire pressure sensor malfunction

 
Old 07-04-2017, 11:58 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 41
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Default Tire pressure sensor malfunction

Hi friends. About once for every 50-100km of driving I get a little message saying that my tire pressure sensor is malfunctioning. It's been going on for about 6 months. None of my tires are leaking air so it must just be the sensor. Is the anyway to override this so I don't get the alert? I don't really feel like changing potentially all four just to get rid of the message.

Thanks!
matwin is offline  
Old 07-05-2017, 12:37 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
arokcrwlr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 416
Thanked 57 Times in 48 Posts
Default

I have the same issue. It only happens on long drives, so not that big of an annoyance. There is a way that TPMS can be disabled in FORScan, but I haven't tried that yet.
arokcrwlr is offline  
Old 07-05-2017, 12:42 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 113
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I've had the same problem for about 6 months. Finally narrowed it down to a cigarette lighter USB adapter. Removed it from the truck, no more TPMS fault light.
12B302 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to 12B302 For This Useful Post:
arokcrwlr (07-05-2017)
Old 07-05-2017, 12:42 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Ricktwuhk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 9,823
Thanked 2,953 Times in 1,875 Posts
Default

Change 1...
Ricktwuhk is offline  
Old 07-05-2017, 12:57 AM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 41
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ricktwuhk View Post
Change 1...
Which one?
matwin is offline  
Old 07-05-2017, 01:25 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
arokcrwlr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 416
Thanked 57 Times in 48 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 12B302 View Post
I've had the same problem for about 6 months. Finally narrowed it down to a cigarette lighter USB adapter. Removed it from the truck, no more TPMS fault light.
Interesting! Come to think of it, on longer drives where I have noticed this issue, I have had my phone charger plugged in as I use Waze to help with police. The next time I see the TPMS malfunction, I will make a note to unplug the charger and see if it goes away. Thanks for the heads up!

Last edited by arokcrwlr; 07-11-2017 at 01:32 PM.
arokcrwlr is offline  
Old 07-05-2017, 01:34 AM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 41
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 12B302 View Post
I've had the same problem for about 6 months. Finally narrowed it down to a cigarette lighter USB adapter. Removed it from the truck, no more TPMS fault light.
Interesting. I do use an aftermarket USB charger from ebay. I'll unplug it and see if anything changes.
matwin is offline  
Old 07-05-2017, 08:28 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
SportsLab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 214
Thanked 40 Times in 27 Posts
Default

My 2011 does the same every once in a great while. Normally the light will go out after a few minutes or at least the next time I start it. I just assumed the TPMS was near the end of its battery life but will now try to check the USB insert.
SportsLab is offline  
Old 07-05-2017, 10:01 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,588
Thanked 425 Times in 362 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by matwin View Post
Which one?
You would have to try to relearn each one to figure it out. If you use Discount Tire or similar stores, they can probably be convinced to do it for free. One should fail if it is dead. Or, it could relearn and make the message stop.

The USB thing is interesting, though. I always have 2 of those plugged in and occasionally see the tpms message.

BTW, it should be a different message if a tire is low.
Spiky is online now  
Old 07-05-2017, 10:02 PM
  #10  
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 21,956
Thanked 4,349 Times in 3,419 Posts
Default

You can read individual tire sensors using forscan to determine which sensor has failed if that's the case.
.
Rnlcomp is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Rnlcomp For This Useful Post:
Ricktwuhk (07-12-2017)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: