Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

seat belt and parking brake release

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2010, 09:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default seat belt and parking brake release

Has anyone else noticed that if you put your seat belt on first and then reach down to release the parking brake the belt catches/locks preventing you from reaching further? I can just barely reach the brake release before the belt slack ends. I started releasing the brake before putting the belt on which is the opposite of what I have been doing in my chevy for the past 19 years.

Jim
Old 03-30-2010, 09:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have never set a parking brake on an automatic vehicle. My opinion would be on the new trucks the seat belt comes from pretty far back, on the rear door instead of the side beam or front seat, so theres not enough slack.
Old 03-30-2010, 10:30 PM

Received 155 Likes on 115 Posts

I set my park brake any time IM on a hill. I have never had the problem with the seat belt stopping me from releasing the brake.
Old 03-30-2010, 10:35 PM

Received 36 Likes on 27 Posts

I don't have any issues but then again my arms are hung like an orangutan.

Too bad all the girls say I am hung like a smurf.
Old 03-30-2010, 10:35 PM

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

try leaning forward a little slower. The faster you tug on the seatbelt, the better chance it will "lockup" on you in thinking you just go into an accident. It's the same thing when if you are on a bumpy road or driving a little crazy, it won't let you pull yourself forward then either.