Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replacement Headlights- Wider dispersion?

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2015, 07:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacement Headlights- Wider dispersion?

Hi all,

Newbie here. I DID do searches for Headlight threads first I promise.

But I didn't find any information that would answer specifically my headlight questions.

I LOVE my 2012 Lariat F150!

But I HATE its oem headlights!!!! I did a search initially a year ago and thought the answer was a stronger Lamp. So i replaced the originals with some SuperX 5000 (making that up) that cost me $80 plus. They were no better.

My problem is that I am up in the NW and frequently have to drive at night in deer and larger critter infested roads. Litterally deer dodging in certain stretches. Have a heavy duty Brush guard but still. My families other cars all have head lamps that at least have some periphial illumination. My 2012 has ZERO side illumination. The lamps are so bad, that I don't even get flashed on high beam and prefer low beam anyway. I do have fog lamps but they do little.

A recent scary three hour drive in wintery Montana interstates after dark and I am so disgusted with these headlights that I thought about trading my truck for one with less dangerous lights. Then I remembered this forum and searched and found that one CAN replace the entire Head light (yes, I am that naive). The OEM HID's sound impressive if they are and option for me, and I AM willing to spend what it takes!

BUT do these famous HIDs have improved side or wider dispersion in their illumination foot print? If not, what would you suggest? Its one thing to have a much brighter light, but it matters a hell of a lot to me whether that amazing illumination will reveal those suicidally inclined wild animals on the side of the roadways!

Thanks...Randy
Old 01-13-2015, 08:06 PM

Received 570 Likes on 473 Posts