Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Putt Putt Puff Puff Rough Start 2014 3.5 EB

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2018, 10:16 AM

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Question Putt Putt Puff Puff Rough Start 2014 3.5 EB

2014 3.5EB... About 43K miles. Bear with me, I'm new to the Turbo thing, but very mechanically minded.

I bought my "new" truck about a month ago. Really loving it for the most part. Figured since I read about these EB's eating plugs I would change them right away since they were still OG. SO, I put in the new plugs, gapped at .028, and had the battery disconnected with the lights on to reset everything. After hooking battery back up, turned key to "on" for 10 seconds, started, idled for 10 mins, then went on some drive cycles taking it easy on it. There wasn't anything funky with the truck, started and ran like a top, old plugs were anywhere between .038-.041 after replacing, but didn't look too bad otherwise. The only other thing I have done is drilled the weep hole, and I cleaned all 3 MAP sensors with CRC MAF cleaner all done before reset.

Truck started right up and ran great immediately after the plug change. Here's my issue though now:

After about a week, I started to get some rough idling and black smoke puffs right on startup. After about 5-10 seconds, some valve or something pops open and it smooths out after that. There has been a couple times that the valve (or whatever is opening) opens up, it starts to smooth out, then I hear it close again and it putts and puffs a little more until it cracks open again.

What is opening up shortly after starting? Is it some kind of pressure release from the turbo going into the TB? Or is it the TB itself cracking open? Controlled by PCM? (Which I reset again just to be sure). I pulled the plugs again this last weekend and re-gapped to .030 just to see if it made any difference. It didn't.