Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Moving up north. Any advice?

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2018, 09:31 AM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Default Moving up north. Any advice?

My wife and I will soon be moving up to New York ( great lakes area) from south Mississippi. What should I be doing to my truck to prepare it for the northern winters and lake effect snow? I have a 2012 Supercrew XLT 4x4 Off road with 148k miles. Any help is appreciated!
Old 08-16-2018, 09:45 AM

Received 35 Likes on 25 Posts

Truck should be fine. nice things to have ........ seat heaters, tires with a good pattern for snow, maybe a block heater.
Old 08-16-2018, 09:51 AM

Well first things first you have to understand and except that rust is going happen plain and simple. I live in the rust belt of New York so i have plenty of experience. I would recommend getting decent all terrain tires if you dont already have them. mud tires are "ok" at best in the snow and regular all seasons are junk in the snow o if you want get 4 winter tires on steel rims so you can just swap them out in the spring and fall. If you can swing the cash get the truck professionally undercoated like the stuff that they use in the bed liners not just the tacky spray Rust proofing places offer. its the most effective way to keep the rust away the longest. other than rust there is nothing to really worry about up here. I would also recommend weather tech floor mats cause all that snow melting on the floor of the truck will ruin the floor boards over time with the salt. Also for convenience having a tonneau cover helps when you need to use the bed so there is no snow in the bed. nothing is more of a PITA than trying to shovel the snow out of the bed. All in all its a truck its 4wd as long as you can adjust to driving in the snow you will be fine. everything is just a suggestion you can do nothing stated above and the truck will still be fine i