Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Limited Slip in the front

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2017, 09:48 PM
FORD lifer

Received 246 Likes on 185 Posts

Default Limited Slip in the front

Hi Guys -

I did a long-winded post about upgrading my rear differential to a TrueTrac, and I've been talking for a couple of years about putting a TrueTrac in the front.

First, the TrueTrac in the rear is still awesome - so why wouldn't a LS (Limited Slip) in the front 'punkin be double-awesome? After all, the Jeeps with the lockers in the front are unstoppable.

So I finally decided to bite.

I pored over the catalogs, and while I found TrueTrac's for the Ford 8.8 axle, which my 2011 F150 has, they didn't show one for the front, only rear.

So I called up Eaton, and talked to two of their people.

They agreed that I could bolt the TrueTrac in, and it would work, but they did not recommend it. Why? Because they are engineered to reliably put horsepower to the ground, mainly in the one direction. I asked them if I couldn't reverse the gears in it, and they told me if I wasn't an expert I'd never get it right.

Now what? I didn't want any kind of clutch-based LS, because I didn't want the preload to make my advance-trac steering work any harder than it already does, and I don't want to rebuild it - ever - yes, call me spoiled.

Then I thought about the 2012 -2014 Raptor, which had mechanical LS in them from the factory. So I searched the web, and couldn't find a single person who had upgraded their XLT.

So I learned that the RAPTOR differential is made by Torsen, was mechanical, no clutches. It looked like the T2 or T2R I see in the speed catalogs.