Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How do you wash and wax

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2012, 11:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do you wash and wax

First new thread for me , I just picked up my 2012 F150 SCREW EB Blue Flame 2 Tone with Max Tow on Thursday.

What do you truck lovers do to wash and wax your rides? What are your favourite products? I heard Collinite 845 is pretty Kick-A**.

I apologize if there has been a thread on this already, im still learning how forums work.
Old 06-26-2012, 11:21 AM

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts

I wash my truck with Optimum No Rinse. You pour some in a bucket of water and use a microfiber sponge to clean and dry one panel at a time. You don't have to use any other water.

It's a nice product to use if your city is under mandatory water restrictions and you can't use a hose on your truck without the water police coming down on you.

I haven't had to wax my truck yet.. it's barely 3 months old.
Old 06-26-2012, 11:23 AM
FishingJunkie

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I'm no detailing expert like some others that will comment on this topic, but the basics I've always used and have worked out well as far as washing goes:
-wash in a cool place, ie not in direct sunlight
-wash one section, then rinse so you don't have soap starting to dry
-rinsing is very important so be thorough
-use a good quality wash mitt and drying leather
-always start washing and rinsing top-bottom
Old 06-26-2012, 11:53 AM
'11 FX4 SCREW 5.ohh!

Received 55 Likes on 15 Posts

I've never used their products, so no opinion about them, but I have watched a few of their videos and they are decent.

http://www.adamspolishes.com/
Old 06-26-2012, 11:57 AM

Received 39 Likes on 31 Posts

Originally Posted by nixx