Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

09 Vibration Concern

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2017, 09:20 AM
Newbie Ford Owner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking 09 Vibration Concern

Hello All:

I am a brand new Ford owner. Never had one in my life and I just picked up an 09 Platinum SCrew with 50k miles. It has a 4" level lift with 35x12.5x20 tires. It is pristine inside and out, but....I have a wicked vibration/bounce that I think is coming from the back end as I do not feel it in the steering. It starts at about 30-40 mph and at highway speeds it feels like your molars will fall out. Mechanic has looked it over a couple times and driven it as well. Ruled out drive line and u-joints. Rear shocks were shot so I replaced those and the front struts with new springs also.

I have had many Chevy/GMC trucks so I am not a novice, but never a Ford and never a lifted rig. Finally, went this direction 1) needed the cab room for the munchkins and 2) liked the look and options at the price point I was shopping.

So. I will have new wheels and tires this week. The Mickey Thompsons currently on the stock rims are badly cupped with a flat spot or two thrown in. Wife hates the truck due to the vibration (and the lift, but that's what those fancy retractable running boards are for...).

I'm thinking the tires are the main culprit. I will have them in and then immediately go for an alignment (it runs super straight and true now, but better safe than sorry).

Any suggestions or insight would be helpful.

Thanks to reading here since I bought this beauty, she now has the Gotts mod, SCT X4 tuner (canned tune), replaced the crappy stock exhaust manifolds with short tube headers and Magnaflow 3" exhaust (didn't wanna mess with the cats and o2 sensors so didn't go long tube).

Thanks

Beasty
Old 03-06-2017, 09:22 AM
Some guy

Received 2,025 Likes on 1,286 Posts