2004-2008 Audio Basics - Page 2 - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2004-2008 Audio Basics

Old 04-23-2010, 08:44 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 135
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Great post. I have an 08 with amfm serius and single cd, if I want to swap for a double din unit, after I pull the original out is it as easy as plugging the new unit in and reinstalling it? I'm thinking about buying the kenwood one and if its an easy install I would rather do it myself. Do I have to buy a new wiring harness? Thanks
blackandchrome is offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 11:00 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
GATORB8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 5,002
Thanked 137 Times in 73 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by blackandchrome View Post
Great post. I have an 08 with amfm serius and single cd, if I want to swap for a double din unit, after I pull the original out is it as easy as plugging the new unit in and reinstalling it? I'm thinking about buying the kenwood one and if its an easy install I would rather do it myself. Do I have to buy a new wiring harness? Thanks
There are two things you need to do a head unit swap from stock to aftermarket.

The first is what is called a dash kit, which is a plastic "adapter" to let the universal mount of the aftermarket hu attach to Ford's model specific mounting. The 04-08 F150 Metra dash kit is 95-5812 (if you went with a single din, you'd want 99-5807). The kit will come with instructions, and once you remove the stock head installation is fairly simple.

The second is called a "harness," and isn't mandatory, but it makes things significantly easier and allows you to easily switch back to your stock head unit. The aftermarket deck will come with it's own connector with pigtails (these are normally interchangeable with similar models from the same brand). In order to integrate the new decks pigtail, you'll need to attach it wire by wire to a factory integration harness, I listed the Metra model numbers in the first post. Some units, like DVD player, will need to be connected to other wires as well to get signals for your parking brake. You can accomplish the same thing without the integration harness, but you will have to permanently cut off your factory connectors and do all the wire connection up in the dash. You can either use crimp connectors or solder the wires together, make sure you secure and insulate with electrical tape or heat shrink whichever way you go. Using crimp connectors and following the instructions, you should be able to connect the harness and complete installation in around an hour your first time.
GATORB8 is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 09:35 PM
  #13  
Member
 
castaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm still having trouble removing the head unit of my 2006 f150.
I guess I just don't understand the directions here.
castaway is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 10:09 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
GATORB8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 5,002
Thanked 137 Times in 73 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by castaway View Post
I'm still having trouble removing the head unit of my 2006 f150.
I guess I just don't understand the directions here.
Does this help?
GATORB8 is offline  
Old 04-28-2010, 10:37 AM
  #15  
Member
 
castaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's perfect!
Thanks once again!
castaway is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 07:39 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
88rxn/a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what are the MAX dimensions for speaker box's without having to raise the rear seat?
as you seen in my other thread i need as much room as i can get. i am wrench savy but no carpenter. i can build a sealed box but i never get measurements exact.
my question:
what is the MAX
height
width
length
maybe options like:
max length (across the floor) with and without removing the jack and tools?
88rxn/a is offline  
Old 05-15-2010, 12:16 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: CenTex
Posts: 294
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default

here's one for ya -

I bought a factory AM/FM/CDP from an 05 to replace my AM/FM in my 07...the antenna inputs are totally different...is this common and are there adapters?
1fitty is offline  
Old 05-15-2010, 12:49 AM
  #18  
Member
 
mechanic124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedford County PA
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There are adapters for this but I don't know of any exact compainies or what type you will need. Search it here and if you dont find anything there is always google.
mechanic124 is offline  
Old 05-17-2010, 03:21 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
06_XLTF150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 260
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

NICE!!!
alot of good info, Good job GATORB8
06_XLTF150 is offline  
Old 05-17-2010, 10:22 AM
  #20  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
GATORB8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 5,002
Thanked 137 Times in 73 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 1fitty View Post
here's one for ya -

I bought a factory AM/FM/CDP from an 05 to replace my AM/FM in my 07...the antenna inputs are totally different...is this common and are there adapters?
Metra and Scoshe are the two big names in integration, try giving them a call.
GATORB8 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 2004-2008 Audio Basics


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: