Topic Sponsor
Detailing & Cleaning Keep your Ford F150 Truck looking top notch! Discuss your cleaning and detailing tips here!

Help a rookie out! Clay bar/Collinite 845 detailing

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2013, 03:56 PM

Received 53 Likes on 41 Posts
Default Help a rookie out! Clay bar/Collinite 845 detailing

I’ve been scouring the forum/internet for the past couple hours and have read so many different posts its starting to make my head spin…

I want to do a full paint detail on my 11’ Screw and make it shine like new again. I’m no detailing expert, cleaning my truck involves a pressure washer, Dawn dish soap, and a car wash brush. I’ve never used a clay bar before but I would like to give that a try as well as Collinite 845. From what I’ve read the general process involves:

1. Wash and Dry
2. Clay bar
3. Wash and Dry
4. Seal
5. Wax, (Collinite 845)

Basically, I’m looking for someone who is experienced in this procedure to elaborate a little on these steps, such as techniques, and recommended product brands. As a University student I don’t exactly have a lot of cash to spend on a bunch of different detailing products so I’m looking for an affordable yet effective detail job.

*I’m not familiar with sealants and how they differ from wax; I just see you must use it after the clay bar process and before the wax?

**The entire front end, mirror caps, and rear bumper is covered in 3M film, is ok to clay bar/ apply these products to it?

Thanks a lot guys. This forums the best.
Dylan.

Old 09-15-2013, 04:18 PM
One Bad MoFoMoCo Owner

Received 394 Likes on 259 Posts

I know there are lots of Colonite fanboys on this site, but to get the best shine you need pure carnuba.

Don't clay bar the 3M paint guard. Clean it with a vinegar water mixture and a microfiber clothe. You can wax it.

You don't need a sealer either.

Just use this:

http://www.surfcitygarage.com/shop/b...uba-liquid-wax

And you can get shine like this:

Old 09-15-2013, 04:21 PM