General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

remove rear speakers

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2008, 04:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default remove rear speakers

Merry Christmas to all - A newbie here so I may be posting incorrectly. I want to replace the lame speakers that came with my 2007 F150 Super Crew but am unsure as to how to remove the door panels to get to the speakers that are in the rear doors. Help please!!
Old 12-25-2008, 04:49 PM

Received 107 Likes on 18 Posts

I've replaced mine but I still had to look this up since last time I just did it more by feel.

This is for a Scab but it's the same.
1.Pry off the two separate upper pieces on each side of the window. The smaller one is held on by two clips in rectangular holes in the door. Just pull until you can get a couple fingers under it give a good yank. Check to make sure the clips are fully seated on the back of the panel so it will be tight when you put it back on. The other larger piece is held with 5 clips (one that stays on the door). I put a glove on to get my fingers in the hole for the door latch and pulled. It is difficult but will come off. Again double check the clips.

2.Pry off the panel that holds the window switch. You should be able to push it up with your fingers. It is just snapped in. Unplug the switch (a small tab on on side holds it, press it with a screwdriver to ease it off without breaking the tab). Set the switch aside. Take out the bolt that is behind the switch.

3.Snap off the small rectangular panel (about 3/4in by 3in long)behing the door handle. A small flat srcewdriver will help. This exposes two brass bolts. Remove them and take off the handle and surrounding bracket. When reinstalling this make sure the handle is straight when easing it in place or it wont pull the latches.