General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Buy 2017 or wait for 2018?

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2017, 09:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buy 2017 or wait for 2018?

Hello everyone. I'm new to the forum. Decided to join to get some information as I will be purchasing a new F-150 in the near future. Live up in rural southern Ontario Canada, an hour northwest of Toronto. I work as an electrician, and need an all around vehicle to transport family and carry my tools and 6' step ladders. I've been looking at purchasing an F-150 for years, and have finally decided to take the plunge. I've narrowed down my build to the following:

Supercrew, 4x4, 5.0L, 6.5' bed, 3.55 Electronic locking diff, 302A, Sport and FX4 packages.

My question is in regard to 2017 and 2018 models. I'm on the fence on whether I should wait for the 2018 model since they will all have the new 10 speed transmission which I do like. I'm also very interested in the new 3.0L Powerstroke diesel option they will have, but am hesitant because it's a new engine and don't know anything about its reliability.

Just wanted to get people's fact based opinions on what they would do. Would you just go for the 2017 or wait out for the 2018 offerings?

Thanks in advance,
Jack
Old 03-27-2017, 09:27 AM

Received 45 Likes on 21 Posts

I'd wait for 2018 just because the 2.7 and 5.0 engines get updated. They will add port injection to help from getting oil deposits on valves, as well as 10 spd trans.
Old 03-27-2017, 09:41 AM
Gone Golfin

Received 2,271 Likes on 1,391 Posts

The diesel won't release until later in the model year. While it will be a new motor to the F-150 it is not a "new" motor and is used in other vehicles Ford builds. Would like to think the reliability won't be much of an issue.