Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

86 F150 Won't Start - Mechanic Novice

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2018, 07:13 PM
New Learner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 86 F150 Won't Start - Mechanic Novice

Hey guys,
Mechanic beginner here and trying to figure out why my 86 F150 won't start. I've read so many threads on the "wont start issue" my head hurts and unfortunately most suggestions are above my skill level

I bought the truck a year or so ago to learn. It wasn't in great shape but it ran ok and my mechanic buddy who went with me said "If you don't buy it, I am". Anyway, initially I had to replace the carb, that's about it. It ran ok for 6-8 months. Started getting harder and harder to fire up. Then, it started getting harder and harder to stay running once it did fire up. It would run decently for a couple weeks then give me trouble again...and on and on.