Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

1985 F150 4.9L 300 Sputtering

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2018, 05:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1985 F150 4.9L 300 Sputtering

Here’s the deal....I have my Grand-Dad’s truck and am trying to get it going again (DISCLAIMER: I am a brand new mechanic and am learning as I go, my depth of knowledge is shallow but am a quick learner).

I Have replaced the fuel tank, sending unit, fuel line, fuel pump, alternator, distributor cap and pin, plugs and many other parts. I recently bought a new one barrel carb and replaced the old one barrel carb. The truck starts right up and will idle fine. When I drive (when cold) it will sputter when I put it in drive but then will run OK until I get to a cruising speed then it sputters, chugs, spits enough to shake the truck and make me think my front end is about the shake off. But, if I accelerate it smooths out and runs just fine.

If I turn off the motor run inside and come out to start again, it will start but acts like it flooded and is/can be a little harder to start. Additionally, when I park it smells of gas around the truck.

I am thinking it’s either a vacuum or timing.

Any suggestions?
Old 07-23-2018, 03:59 PM

Received 46 Likes on 42 Posts

When you bought/installed the new carb, did you adjust float or air/fuel needles? This is important for correct fuel flow rates.
https://itstillruns.com/adjust-carte...r-7902949.html
The following users liked this post:
Reedhands (07-25-2018)
Old 07-23-2018, 05:14 PM

Received 1,731 Likes on 1,487 Posts

First: get a Haynes manual, and read it. Read this caption before buying one, though:

(phone app link)

Second: collect all the truck's details as this caption describes, and put them into your signature so we can review them when we want to reply:

(phone app link)