Topic Sponsor
Performance, Tuning, and (LEGAL) Racing Post discussions about increasing performance, capabilities, and racing. ****WARNING**** Street racing or illegal activities will be removed and potential bans will be handed out.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

If you are tune shopping, or feel like there is more out there (SSI)

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2017, 12:26 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default If you are tune shopping, or feel like there is more out there (SSI)

I am a long time member, low post count. This should hopefully show that I am not overly opinionated and only speak when I feel like it could actually benefit my other F150 alumni. I am a master certified tech, and former motorcycle road racer. I like speed and know vehicles. I decided to give history to validate that I can at least change my own oil, if not more.....I am posting this for the sole purpose of hopefully saving someone time and money that I wish I would have. I won't get into any arguments, so don't expect a response. I ran a very popular tune in my 2013 FX4 5.0 for about 4 years and was pretty content with what was given to me after my customizing. As I started running higher tier tunes, the truck started to take on a legitimate 2 stroke personality. It seemed to be pretty flat until 3,000 rpm, then it immediately felt like you sprayed nitrous and it ran like a scalded ape. Once I put 35" inch tires on, it exaggerated it, and became annoying. I was also really wanting at least decent torque. I finally decided to try someone else reluctantly as I was comfortable that the original tuner at least had a safe tune. The second company was slow on delivering tunes, but I got a 91 tune and loaded it up. It immediately had noticeably more torque. The first drive seemed promising. After living with it for a few days, the new wore off and my spidey senses started going to work. The tune did have a good bottom end, but the rush after 3,000 rpm was gone. It was nice and linear, but it wou