Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

P0171, P0174 Codes

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2011, 05:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P0171, P0174 Codes

I'm relatively new to this site and would greatly appreciate any information you can give. I admit, I'm a novice when it comes to auto repair. However, I'm an eager do it yourselfer not afraid to get his hands dirty.

Anyway, yesterday when I started my truck (2003 4.6L V8) it began to run rough at idle then almost died. I gave the gas pedal a pump, which helped for a moment, then the rough idle started again, followed by a surging of the engine. The service engine light came on. I took it down to the shop and was given the following codes

P0171...System too lean bank 1
P0174...System too lean bank 2

I was told that because bank 1 and 2 codes set together, that it was likely a faulty MAF sensor.

Again, any and all input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your help.
Smjacobe
Old 12-14-2011, 05:26 PM

Received 1,390 Likes on 664 Posts

Those two codes together usually mean the MAF is dirty/ faulty or there is a significant vacuum leak which could be from a leaky intake or a broken vacuum line. There are other causes but those are the most common. I'd start by cleaning the MAF.
Old 12-15-2011, 02:31 AM

Thanks kozal01...I will start there and see how it goes.
Old 12-16-2011, 06:58 PM

Cleaned the MAF and no luck...still running rough. I did notice that in the morning when its cold, the engine runs better, after a few minutes when it warms up is when the rough idle starts. Not sure if that is helpful in anyway, just thought I would mention it. How do I go about checking for a leaky intake? Someone also mentioned a failed oxygen sensor...any possibility with that being the culprit? Also, I did fill up my gas tank just prior to this starting...how about a simple case of bad gas?
Old 12-17-2011, 11:31 AM
Roving Mechanic???