Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

Low Oil Pressure...PLEASE HELP

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2012, 07:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Low Oil Pressure...PLEASE HELP

Okay, yes...this is my first time on f150forum and I will continue to be a member because I just bought a 1991 f150 and I will introduce myself as well as post pictures, but right now my biggest concern is my oil pressure.

Here's the details:

I bought the truck approximately 3 months ago. I had to perform some maintenance on it to make it road worthy, but it's in rather good shape.

Anyway, I changed the oil a couple weeks ago and from the moment I changed the oil my oil pressure has been low. Up until I changed the oil the pressure had always read normal. After trouble shooting the guage and the pressure sensor switch, which both are working properly, I put a guage on it and the motor is only producing 5 pounds at idle and 15 pounds at 2500 rpms. I am not entirely sure what would cause this.

ANY advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!
Old 08-29-2012, 11:32 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default oil

drop the oil pan, clean it and the oil pickup screen, check if the assembly is totally gunk free including the pickup tube. If they are in good shape check your oil pump,or replace or fix that, check your oil filter, check for a blockage in the filter bypass system. Also get a Chilton book about your truck, they have trouble shooting info.
Old 08-29-2012, 07:48 PM

Received 163 Likes on 132 Posts

Always go back to the last place first, what weight oil did you use and how many miles are on that engine. Are you noticing any smoke from the exhaust-engine noise etc....
Old 08-29-2012, 08:06 PM

Received 239 Likes on 223 Posts