Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

Engine removal

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2018, 12:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Engine removal

Good day, Forum guys and girls,
I'm about to tackle pulling the 4.6L from my 2005 F-150 xlt. Any recommendations on an ENGINE TILTER/LEVELER
to hook on to the engine with?
The Chiltons is a bit short on detail just saying "sling or chain".
Whitney's has:
http://www.jcwhitney.com/torin-big-red- ... 005g55u0j1
with a 1500 lb capacity
And Amazon has a bunch of similar ones.
Or I could go with the Hein-Werner HW93805 Blue Load Leveler - 3 Ton Capacity. It's only $1,374.20 FREE Shipping for Prime members!

Any sage advice and wisdom will be welcome!
Thanks,
Hugh
Old 01-11-2018, 06:12 AM
Mark

Received 2,431 Likes on 2,129 Posts

Harbor fright..
Old 01-11-2018, 11:09 AM

Received 1,738 Likes on 1,492 Posts

I'm a pro, and I never use one. It adds too much vertical drop to the hoist. A couple of ratchet straps are cheaper, easier, quicker, smaller to store, more-useful in other applications, & more-effective.
Old 01-14-2018, 03:59 PM

Received 140 Likes on 99 Posts

Quite often you can rent tools from jobber parts stores. I would start there 1st.
Old 01-14-2018, 08:49 PM

Post many thanks

Good ideas, guys
We got the intake manifold and radiator out today and I hope to get the engine lift this coming weekend. (but half of Sunday will be lost to visiting the mother-in-law). I agree the beam type load leveler will add too much height as the truck has a lift kit. I think I'll try a 4 point pick using chains in the back and two ratchet straps in front. I'll take some photos to show how it goes.

Hugh
Attached Images  
Old 01-15-2018, 11:54 AM

Originally Posted by HughA
...the truck has a lift kit.
Let the air out of the front tires.
Old 01-16-2018, 12:27 AM

Post Good thought