Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

egr flow insuffient code p0401 help please

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2012, 10:22 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default egr flow insuffient code p0401 help please

i have a 97 f150 4.6l the nut on my egr tube rusted off the tube but was still on the manifold well me and my dad tryed to re thread the nut that was on the manifold still but couldnt so i put the nut or whatever back into the intake and had a guy at a repair shop weld over the hole that was on the manifold
well i regret doing that now because my check engine light it on i took it to auto zone and it said egr flow insuffient code p0401 i have way less hp and my throttle response is terrible before i welded over the hole this truck would get up and go on a dime but i cant do nothing about it now
so now im wondering what i could do to give it more flow and more hp
new exhaust maybe
new heads maybe
im new to all this stuff and only know what my dad has told me but im reading more and learning so hopefully some of you guys here could help me please
i want more flow and more hp
thanks
cole
Old 09-03-2012, 11:41 AM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

so the big " nut" that you screw down to hold the tube to the header is damaged? or on the intake side. you could cut the nut loose and should be able to pull it loose. take a picture? also it is a good idea to replace your dpfe with your egr valve. i always replace them both. your dpfe is usually bolted to the side of the intake and has 2 rubber hoses that connect to your exhaust manifold. holes in the hoses will cause problems as well. also make sure when you take the egr valve off the a bunch of carbon has not clogged up the holes underneath it. if you are talking about the threads of your intake manifold itself are damaged you should replace the intake which is a pretty easy job.

Last edited by Tim in Corpus; 09-03-2012 at 11:43 AM.