Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

Clutch problems

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2018, 04:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch problems

Hello everyone, so I’m new to this as in literally my first day so please forgive me if I get something wrong. I recently purchased a 97 f150 with the 4.6 and 5 speed manual and I’m having a problem with it. The clutch activation and engagement felt completely fine when I started, but then I drove about 55 miles and when getting off an off ramp from the highway, the pedal went completely stiff and wouldn’t engage with 1st gear anymore. I mean REALLY stiff as in I almost couldn’t push it to the floor, I tried a few times and it reluctantly caught (really slow and high) and I was able to drive it to a parking lot and have it towed. (I was also able to shift from 1st to second). So I’m sitting in the parking lot waiting for the tow truck fiddling with the clutch peddle (pushing down and letting off) and eventually it just got weaker and went back to normal, almost like something popped right again. I tried moving the truck again and it engaged alright (seemingly at least), but I have no idea what this could be, can anyone help diagnose it?
Old 10-04-2018, 04:54 PM

Received 1,264 Likes on 1,083 Posts

Originally Posted by New_user
I recently purchased a 97 f150 with the 4.6 and 5 speed manua

The clutch activation and engagement felt completely fine when I started, but then I drove about 55 miles and when getting off an off ramp from the highway, the pedal went completely stiff and wouldn’t engage with 1st gear anymore.
Hydraulics can get locked if the return port is blocked. Caused by setting the mechanical linkage too tight.