Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

1990 F150 custom needs some TLC!

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2011, 10:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post 1990 F150 custom needs some TLC!

I have a 1990 f150 custom that i purchased about 6 yrs ago. I had to replace a few things when i first purchased it and it has been running fine up until about 2 months ago. This is my first time owning a truck and am used to fixing 4 cylinders as i am a home mechanic. First the oil pressure will drop low when ever i am slowing down or stopped and only goes up when i apply gas or am driving. That will be my first question. Would anyone know why that would happen? My first guess is that the oil pump is bad. Also i keep eating up bearings on the right front side wheel. I took it to the shop a couple months ago b/c i thought maybe i was doing something wrong packing the bearings out and installing them, but the problem has returned yet again. I was thinking about replacing "spindle" i believe it is called. Also the left rear drum brakes keep locking up and the shoes are disintegrated when i pull off the drum off. I have bled the brakes and changed the springs other parts that allow the brake to function properly. Would anyone know why the brakes are continuously locking up and breaking apart like that and how to fix it? My last problem that has come up as of last night is that my truck would not start after driving for about an hour. It started to run very rough so i pulled over in a parking lot to check it and it would not restart for quite some time. After about an hour it started right up but with a very loud clanking noise. I added some oil just in case but that did not stop the clanking. I decided to try my luck and drive home and after about 20 mins of driving the clanking stopped but the truck drove like total garbage! That i would love to get someone input into what that could possibly be, maybe someone is h