LED Bars and wiring - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



LED Bars and wiring

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-17-2017, 10:26 AM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default LED Bars and wiring

Hi guys,
I want to install some LED lighting on my truck.
At this point i want a 28" bar in the center of my Back Rack and one 7" Flood LED bar on each side.
2 7" Bars 36WATT each = 72Watts
28" Bar 180Watts
252Watts.
What size wires do i use to feed them.

21amps looks like what they are going to pull at maybe 25' so it says 6 gauge wire. sounds big no.
and what about the relay? will it handle that?
JDeVos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 12:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Steve Osborne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: corbeil ontario canada
Posts: 1,852
Thanked 227 Times in 204 Posts
Default

does seem high....
normal 30 amp bosch relay and 14 ga is all I used to wire these... no problems yet...
Attached Thumbnails
LED Bars and wiring-12998609_760444000758420_9001720947397036469_n.jpg   LED Bars and wiring-13096099_761296164006537_6354413757201083211_n.jpg   LED Bars and wiring-13076630_764244933711660_9001689532292558328_n.jpg  
Attached Images
 
Steve Osborne is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Osborne For This Useful Post:
JDeVos (04-17-2017)
Old 04-17-2017, 12:44 PM   #3
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think the Wattage is what they are equal to not what the draw is so the formula puts amperage at 21amps = 6 gauge wire. I can't find the actual bar amp draw.
JDeVos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 11:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Scott91370's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Burleson, Texas
Posts: 552
Thanked 66 Times in 60 Posts
Default

Make sure you have as shout a ground wire as possible and that it is good and clean between the connector and panel.
As far as the size, you probably won't be anywhere near 25'. I did mine and I don't think it was even 10'.
Scott91370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 02:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
STingray1300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,989
Thanked 460 Times in 324 Posts
Default

Quality LED manufacturers will always include in the nomenclature what the amp draw of each unit is expected to be. You will find that the actual power draw in amps (amps = watts divided by volts) will be about 1/10 of the wattage output. Cheaper lighting units will be a crap-shoot, and of course, perform poorly (compared to quality units).

So, as an example, if you were to use a Rigid light, and the wattage on a 28" bar was 154 watts, then 154w * 13.8v = 11.16 amps. On a Rigid, for those 11 amps of current you get 12,880 raw lumens/3800 lux.

For this, you can use 16ga on the 28" and 18ga on each of the 7" (6"?). Use 1 30amp Bosch relay for each switch you plan to use. Oh, and don't think more leds on a cheap unit will get you more light. Look on you tube for guys who have posted the real world differences between eBay lights and quality brand lights. The results will surprise you. Save your pennies for the good stuff.
STingray1300 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2017 F150Forum.com
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send