Topic Sponsor
2015 - Present Ford F150 General discussion on the latest generation Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Trailer blind spot option on cluster

 
Old 08-10-2018, 03:04 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 1,398
Received 138 Likes on 118 Posts
Default Trailer blind spot option on cluster

Hey gang, my truck has all the towing goodies. Before towing a 5x8 U-Haul trailer (about 5.5' high), I enabled the 'trailer blind spot' option so I could have BLIS. And no, the trailer didn't obstruct the BLIS sensors. Well, as soon as I hooked up the 4-pin connector, dash warning said BLIS was disabled (along with other crap) due to the trailer. So what the hell is that option for? The trailer was narrow enough that it wasn't obstructing the BLIS sensors, so it'd had been nice to have it. Maybe it's for something else, but couldn't find anything to that effect in the manual. Thanks.

Last edited by elptxjc; 08-10-2018 at 03:07 AM.
elptxjc is offline  
Old 08-10-2018, 05:23 AM
  #2  
forscan noob
iTrader: (1)
 
redbroncokid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: grand rapids, michigan
Posts: 326
Received 71 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

on the trailer screen there is a screen you have to get to for each trailer to set up the trailer blis before it will work so it knows how long the trailer is
redbroncokid is offline  
Old 08-10-2018, 06:20 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Traina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mount Dora, FL.
Posts: 153
Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Correct /redbroncokid, you must name and set up specific trailer dimensions for each trailer you connect. Then when you connect one of them make sure you scroll through the names you selected for each trailer until you have the one connected. Good luck.
Traina is offline  
Old 08-10-2018, 07:00 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Mlarv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kent Ohio
Posts: 1,657
Received 210 Likes on 169 Posts
Default

Is you truck an 18. I can not see it on the app. If not then I pretty sure you don't have BLIS for a trailer.
Mlarv is online now  
Old 08-10-2018, 07:02 AM
  #5  
forscan noob
iTrader: (1)
 
redbroncokid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: grand rapids, michigan
Posts: 326
Received 71 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Mlarv View Post
Is you truck an 18. I can not see it on the app. If not then I pretty sure you don't have BLIS for a trailer.
trailer blis is 17+. His sig says 18 platinum
redbroncokid is offline  
Old 08-10-2018, 09:24 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
rliles1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,169
Received 284 Likes on 209 Posts
Default

Second the posts that say you have to go into the trailer tow settings, choose select trailer, choose add new trailer, and set up the U-Haul trailer, including inputting its length. If you don't do that, the truck just disables BLIS.
rliles1 is offline  
Old 08-14-2018, 09:16 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,022
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

I did setup the trailer specific BLIS info, but BLIS still remains disabled. Did anyone get it to work? I have a 2018 XLT.
big_ole_truck is online now  
Old 08-14-2018, 10:00 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
rliles1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,169
Received 284 Likes on 209 Posts
Default

Works like a charm for me. After you get it set up, when you hook up the trailer to the truck, go into Select Trailer and select the trailer you set up. It should work.
rliles1 is offline  
The following users liked this post:
Ricktwuhk (12-18-2018)
Old 08-14-2018, 10:36 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,022
Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

I get no conventional trailer selected although the only trailer was setup as a conventional trailer.
big_ole_truck is online now  
Old 08-14-2018, 10:51 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
jaxwakeboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by big_ole_truck View Post
I did setup the trailer specific BLIS info, but BLIS still remains disabled. Did anyone get it to work? I have a 2018 XLT.
In addition to doing the trailer setup process....go to the settings tab and make sure that trailer blind spot is checked. I had this same issue and just discovered this secondary setting today.
jaxwakeboarder is offline  
The following users liked this post:
big_ole_truck (08-15-2018)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Trailer blind spot option on cluster


Contact Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: