Topic Sponsor
2015 - 2020 Ford F150 General discussion on the 13th generation Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A/C Compressor coil failing?

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2021, 08:38 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default A/C Compressor coil failing?

A/C stopped working and was blowing the 10a (fuse 44) fuses anytime the coil tried pulling the clutch in. Disconnected harness from coil and fuse held. Being an electrician I thought what the hell, if it's a short I'll bump the current up and try and clear it. Threw a 30a at it and low and behold it held. Put 10a back in and it also held and A/C is working fine again. So I'm thinking either I blew the short clear or the wire is worn through and I cleared it moving the harness and wires around. Thoughts?
Old 07-08-2021, 09:10 PM
Bacardiac

Received 30 Likes on 22 Posts

Originally Posted by Eric_v
A/C stopped working and was blowing the 10a (fuse 44) fuses anytime the coil tried pulling the clutch in. Disconnected harness from coil and fuse held. Being an electrician I thought what the hell, if it's a short I'll bump the current up and try and clear it. Threw a 30a at it and low and behold it held. Put 10a back in and it also held and A/C is working fine again. So I'm thinking either I blew the short clear or the wire is worn through and I cleared it moving the harness and wires around. Thoughts?
No thoughts, just saving this for when it happens to me. Thanks bud.
Old 07-09-2021, 12:50 PM

Received 2,303 Likes on 1,513 Posts

You need to check the wiring harness.
The following users liked this post:
rightway (07-12-2021)
Old 07-09-2021, 12:52 PM
Size Matters

Received 3,365 Likes on 1,698 Posts

Originally Posted by Eric_v
the year of the vehicle and engine model would be helpful
Old 07-10-2021, 08:26 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Details are helpful, sorry about that. 2015 screw 3.5 eco 4x4.

Was a little premature thinking it was working. Clutch only held for the one cycle then was blowing fuse again.