Topic Sponsor
Engine / Drivetrain Talk 6 or 8 Cylinders? Come talk about it.

Old 1997 4.2 4x4 won't start for first time in 2 years -- nonmechanic in rural alaska

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2017, 02:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Old 1997 4.2 4x4 won't start for first time in 2 years -- nonmechanic in rural alaska

Greetings:

I just joined the forum a couple days ago and was bragging on how my 1997 2500$ f150 4x4 4.2 had never failed to start.

I guess I jinxed myself. Today I went to start it. It turned over and made a whirring noise and didn't start. Then it started and I drove it home from fishing. Later, it started right up. Then when I went to start if this evening, it turned over a couple times and made the whirring noise.

That is what it has continued to do and won't start. It turns over a couple times, then no more, and makes the whirring noise.

I I'd be interested to know what sorts of things could be causing this. I'm not a mechanic. Unless it is simple, I probably can't fix it. And simple for me means not much more than loose wires, changing oil, plugs etc. I did have the truck at the brake shop last week and had the front brakes replaced. I was happy with that service and can't see how it could be related unless there is a loose wire or something. The whole truck is loose wires so to speak...

I'm thinking it has to do with the starter. Is there any way to tell about that easily for the non mechanic.

Any advice will be much appreciated. This is a 2500$ truck I use in rural alaska to go to the store and work and nothing more... except fishing! Mechanics are hard to find here and are really expensive so if I have some information on what is likely wrong with the truck it will be a big help.

Thanks in advance!
Old 07-20-2017, 01:22 PM
Renaissance Honky

Received 154 Likes on 134 Posts