Topic Sponsor
5.0L Discuss the 5.0L engine here.

In-Frame Rebuild Tips for a 302 in a 1989 F-150

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2021, 02:45 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default In-Frame Rebuild Tips for a 302 in a 1989 F-150

Hi,

I've just completed an in-frame rebuild of a 302 in an 1989 F-150 4WD. In-frame rebuilds are not the best way, but sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do This is my first attempt at rebuilding an engine too. The job takes about a week when you have all the parts.

I thought I would share some tips for those looking to undertake this (or part of) project. There are a few tricky spots that can save a lot of time if you know shortcuts. Some of these I came up with myself, some took from videos and other places.

There are some F-150 specific things that will make your life easier - also useful for those that want to do the oil pan / oil pump.

1. Honing

Stick a tin can wrapped in paper at the bottom of the cylinder. This way grit doesn't get into the engine! Simple, yet effective.

Use a 90 degree drill adapter to get to the corner cylinders.

Honing:

Honing:

2. Main Bearings

Main Bearings are easier than they look to roll in and deal with.

A good way to roll them out is to bend a cotter pin (I used a keyring), feed it into an oil hole and spin the engine.

An ATX case bracket out of any PC makes a great tool to get main bearings started.

If you press on the bearing at the edge closest to the engine block when you are trying to roll it in, it's much easier to push it in. You need strong fingers though.

Make sure you change the first main bearing (closest to the front the engine). It receives a lot of wear, I think (but not 100% sure on this one) because of the serpentine belt. This is the only bearing I had that was significantly down to copper.

Rolling in:

Tools for main bearings:

N1 Main Bearing:

3. Oil Pump Install

This is the worst part of the rebuild job!