Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

Brake leak.

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2008, 12:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake leak.

Looks like I have a slow seep where the master cylinder bolts on to the power brake booster. Is there a seal/gasket or something there that could be bad and the cause of this leak? Seems like there is a small dent/cut/crease right below where master cylinder bolts into it. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 02-08-2008, 12:44 AM
I Voted For Bill and Opus

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Replace the master cylinder (MS) RIGHT!!!!!! NOW!!!!!!!!, It is leaking past the internal seals you are going to very soon have No brakes period. The only place the fluid can come out is where you see it, and You are damn lucky you can see it at least you have warning. I honestly would not drive the truck until you replace the MS. Don't bother to rebuild it, just purchase a re-manufactured one, a rebuild kit costs about 30 dollars, the brake cylinder hone another 18 to 25 bucks. It just doesn't make sense to redo one of these things yourself. You didn't mention the year and model truck you have but a rebuilt MS should cost you less then 40 dollars at NAPA parts.

Assuming you want to replace the MS yourself, very easy at least the removal and replacement part. To make the rest so much easier this would be a good time to add some brake tools to your tool box. flare fitting wrenches, and a pressure bleeder.