Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

87 F150 V8 won't start

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2018, 11:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 87 F150 V8 won't start

Im about to have a new project truck thanks to my mother in law... its a 87 f150 Manual Single cab...... her ex husband is sending it back to us and i got word it doesn't start.... It turns over but wont start..... My father in law thinks its the fuel pump.... I have gotten information that he drove it about a month ago with no issues...Now i am new to Fords but not my first rodeo with turning a wrench...... Built a very nice autocross car in high school and have a Jeep cherokee i have pretty much rebuilt from the ground up........Since I'm new to the ford game and its been awhile so i worked on a distributor vehicle i was wondering if you guys could point me in the right direction and where i should look first....... Any information would be greatly appreciated.... Its a V8 with only 87K miles...... Where should i start first thanks guys...... FYI he didn't take very good care of it........ Really look forward to getting this thing running! I LOVE the truck!
Old 02-11-2018, 12:51 AM

Received 137 Likes on 133 Posts

It's a V8, but is it a 302(5.0 liter) or a 351(5.8 liter)? It will make a difference, because I think the 351 still had a carburetor, the 302 was fuel injection.

You can start by checking for spark by pulling the wire out of the center of the distributor cap and holding it a bit away and watching for spark while spinning the engine over. If you use a remote starter switch to do this without an assistant, don't forget to turn the ignition switch on.

Also make sure the battery has plenty of charge, it will likely be down from cranking try to start it.
Old 02-11-2018, 10:04 AM

she's a 302... i know for sure its fuel injected
Old 02-11-2018, 10:21 AM

Received 1,731 Likes on 1,487 Posts