Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation > Lighting
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2013, 02:10 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
scole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Everett, Washington
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanked 22 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default 2013 Center Console LED light install

I just completed my install of LEDs inside the center console (non-flow through) of my 2013 Scab. I based my installation on this post by oskerb so hat tip to him for the idea.

Parts list:
The console is just secured with 4 bolts and is easily removed. Just slide the seats forward and back to access the bolts. With all four bolts removed the console lifts up but you still need to disconnect the 12v power connector. There's enough slack to just tip the console up on it's back and then disconnect the 12v outlet.

I took the LED light strip & just cut it into two equal length segments & then soldered wires to the second strip. I tucked the light strips just underneath the curved portion of the inner top of the console. The passenger side has more of a lip than the driver's side does but both light strips are relatively hidden. As for the wiring I drilled a small hole through the plastic of the back end of the console. Before actually drilling into the console, I made test holes on a scrap piece of wood to make sure I had the correct hole size.

In Oskerb's install, he had some trouble with the momentary switch actually closing properly when the lid closed. I experimented a bit and settled on a different location for the placement of my switch. The momentary switch poked out just a little too much so I added a washer or two before inserting the switch through the console's plastic wall. This just about set the depth perfectly. I think if my switch was 1/8" lower, this adjustment may not have been necessary.
Click the image to open in full size.

Hopefully the wiring makes sense. On the 12v factory wiring harness the black/yellow wire is ground and the pink/orange wire is the positive. I basically used a few terminal splices and some quick connectores for the two momentary switch wires should I need to replace it. Power goes from the factory harness to the momentary switch and then the second wire from the momentary switch goes to the first LED light strip. On the ground side, a wire goes from the factory harness to the first LED strip's ground. The second LED light strip is just spliced into the first strip down the line from the previously described connections.
Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Pretty easy installation. Just take your time and measure three times before making any holes.
scole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 08:40 AM   #2
noob :)
 
byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Thanked 97 Times in 79 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Nice write up... if you wanted to skip the switch you could just wire the led lights to ignition power and have them light up whenever the key is on
__________________
2013 Platinum 5.0
byte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 06:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
dieseltech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I like that idea..
dieseltech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 07:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
scole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Everett, Washington
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanked 22 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Thanks! Here's one more photo from inside the console looking towards the back. You can see the momentary switch in the upper right:
Click the image to open in full size.

My original plan was to tap into the cargo light wire that's used to provide power for the LED bed light project but I really didn't feel like running a wire underneath the carpet from the sill to the console area. I definitely don't want them on all the time so this setup should work fine.
scole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 09:59 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
dieseltech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I think this may just be my next mod.. I gotta stay off here before the wife gets tired of my never ending mods.. thanks I really like this lay out
dieseltech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 01:36 AM   #6
One Clean Machine
 
Toddman34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 5,433
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Thanked 717 Times in 615 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Default

I basically did the same thing. same Radio Shack switch just a different location . two strips of 9 LED's one front one back, for much needed lighting here are some pics... love this mod...

2013 Center Console LED light install-forumrunner_20131229_003638.jpg



2013 Center Console LED light install-forumrunner_20131229_003648.jpg



2013 Center Console LED light install-forumrunner_20131229_003625.jpg
__________________
2012 XLT 4X4 Screw|EcoBoost|
Toddman34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 02:26 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
scole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Everett, Washington
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanked 22 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Damn. I didn't think about trying to mount the switch in that orientation. If you look closely at the first photo I included, you'll see a hole in the upper left corner of the photo. I originally tried to mount the switch in the metal of the console lid hinge but it turned out that there was zero clearance for a switch. Never thought about mounting it like you did. Well done!
scole is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to scole For This Useful Post:
Toddman34 (12-29-2013)
Old 12-29-2013, 01:28 PM   #8
One Clean Machine
 
Toddman34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 5,433
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Thanked 717 Times in 615 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scole View Post
Damn. I didn't think about trying to mount the switch in that orientation. If you look closely at the first photo I included, you'll see a hole in the upper left corner of the photo. I originally tried to mount the switch in the metal of the console lid hinge but it turned out that there was zero clearance for a switch. Never thought about mounting it like you did. Well done!
Yeah, I did this mod a few months ago, after seeing what TuxedoBlack did to his console... This one of my favorite mods I've done, next to the led bedlights mod...

Yours turned out very nice as well...
__________________
2012 XLT 4X4 Screw|EcoBoost|

Last edited by Toddman34; 12-29-2013 at 01:31 PM.
Toddman34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 06:19 PM   #9
One Clean Machine
 
Toddman34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 5,433
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Thanked 717 Times in 615 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Default

I got these pics from Joseph, as I always forget to take pictures of what I did!...

Its the same Switch & setup exactly how I wired my setup, hope this helps others wanting to put lights in theyre Console...



2013 Center Console LED light install-forumrunner_20140128_171851.jpg



2013 Center Console LED light install-forumrunner_20140128_171758.jpg



2013 Center Console LED light install-forumrunner_20140128_171822.jpg



2013 Center Console LED light install-forumrunner_20140128_171836.jpg



2013 Center Console LED light install-forumrunner_20140128_171929.jpg
__________________
2012 XLT 4X4 Screw|EcoBoost|
Toddman34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 08:14 PM   #10
FX2 aficionado
 
Pecasthecat11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lake Balboa, CA. 91406
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Looks like I need to go get me some led strips. Where did you guys get them, RadioShack?
Pecasthecat11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 08:14 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.