Topic Sponsor
2011+ Engine Related Questions Sub-Forum to the new engines that debuted in 2011.

Ecoboost stumble, dealership says can't duplicate

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2015, 03:10 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Ecoboost stumble, dealership says can't duplicate

Kind of a rant more than anything I guess.

Had the problem last weekend. Almost got rearended because of it. Pulled out into the road on a blind corner and had to hit it to avoid the car I couldn't see coming and it just fell flat on its face. Fortunately I could pull over to the shoulder and get out of the road. The engine light came on and it took a good 10-20 seconds to recover.

Bring it to the dealer this morning and now they tell me there is no code and they can't duplicate the problem. Jeez.

there is nothing to say it was or wasn't that particular problem. I'm no expert but it certainly matches the descriptions I've seen. Is there something else that could cause it? And is there not a code stored in the computer when the light comes on?

I have a mind to just fix it myself instead of messing with the dolts at the dealership. I already did that with the door panels.

This is a 2014 SC with EB
Old 11-03-2015, 03:51 PM

Received 14 Likes on 7 Posts

Also look here:

https://www.f150forum.com/f70/hesita...oboost-318794/
Old 11-03-2015, 04:19 PM

I saw that one. I've read a few good threads.

I found out there is a TSB for the 13-14s, and yet I get "sorry we can't duplicate the problem". That's the same BS I got 20 years ago from numerous Pontiac dealerships and it's the reason I never bought another new GM car.

I'm hopping mad right now. I hope I can stay calm enough when I pick it up that I don't launch myself over his desk.
Old 11-03-2015, 05:14 PM

Received 196 Likes on 140 Posts

Just take it easy, it is very very hard to replicate. I know its frustrating I had the issue. Just drill a hole and replace plugs yourself and be done with it, its not worth the hassle