Throttle Actuator Motor....OR....TPS???? - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



Throttle Actuator Motor....OR....TPS????

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-04-2011, 04:11 AM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Lawncare101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 23
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Throttle Actuator Motor....OR....TPS????

Howdy race fans......so how many of you have had any problems with your throttle position sensor or throttle actuator motor???? I ask because last week just as I was coming home from work right in front of my driveway I lost all throttle. The truck was running but no throttle. I have a Bully Dog Triple Dog GT, so I did a diagnostic, it gave Throttle position/pedal position malfunction, Throttle actuator forced idle and Throttle actuator stuck closed. I erased codes, started the truck back and has been fine ever since. Sooooo, after some research and being a mechanic myself and working in the automotive field I have come to a few conclusions but would like some feedback as well. First, according to Ford when a drive by wire vehicle poses these symptoms they recommend replacing the entire throttle body (cannot purchse actuator motor without entire body) and also the position sensor all togehtor. The throttle body is $343 and the sensor is $111. Now here is my dilemna, Out of the dealings I have had with a drive by wire failure, there is no possible fix without replacing the "problemed part". Now, like I said after erasing codes my truck has been just fine. If the throttle actuator motor was at fault erasing the codes would not have "fixed" it. If the motor recieves a DC voltage from the ECM and was at fault, it would not open the butterfly. If the TPS was at fault then the signal to the ECM would not be present. So could I have just had a glitch or the possibilty of having to replace the TPS or throtle body soon.......???? Has anyone had this issue????
Lawncare101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 08:20 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Peru, NE currently
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a similar problem. I still have throttle but it becomes sluggish and I get a TPS code. I reset the throttle position and clear the code. It's usually fine with highway driving but in town in stop and go traffic I get the code again. I don't know what else to do for it. I have considered replacing the throttle body too but I don't want to spend that much money if it doesn't fix the problem
fire74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 09:32 AM   #3
Moderator
5 Year Member
 
Bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lake Mary Florida
Posts: 9,121
Thanked 388 Times in 304 Posts
Default

Consider buying used, from a low mileage vehicle. More than half the price of new. I've been doing this for years on my truck; have never had a failure doing this.

Currently I have a low mileage starter and alternator ready to use if/when my current ones fail. I find them off of Ebay moters, parts and accessories. The bone yards advertise there all the time, or visit your local yards.
Bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 10:56 AM   #4
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Lawncare101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 23
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I beleive I may have found the problem, at least I hope so. with the codes being throttle actuator stuck closed and forced idle, if the butterfly in the TB is gummed up or gets " stuck" or has resistance against it as it tries to move the ECM will shut it down to prevent damage to the actuator motor. When the ECM shuts the throttle down it will trip the above mentioned codes. Also if running an aftermarket "oiled" filter be careful not to over oil the filter, excess oil can gum the butterfly and cause the problem. I am going to remove mine tonight and thoroughly clean the crap out of it. Be sure to use throttle body cleaner and NOT carb cleaner. Carb cleaner will remove the reckon coating from the butterfly and will damage the TB. Goodluck and reply if anybody is having my same issues.
Lawncare101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 10:59 AM   #5
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Lawncare101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 23
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Oops, spellcheck screwed that up.......I meant teflon coating not reckon. Stupid smart phone....
Lawncare101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
95 f150 e4od shift problem xlt5oh Drivetrain 5 10-15-2015 07:34 PM
Just Completed Significant Mods MisterScott 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 0 10-01-2015 08:05 PM
4wd/Front End Grinding Noise 04_lariat_4x4 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 10 09-30-2015 05:38 PM
Accelerator throttle cable ericantonio 1987 - 1996 F150 1 09-28-2015 04:46 PM
Front end noise at low speed 4x4 stegarsla 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 1 09-26-2015 09:50 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com