Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

Throttle Actuator Motor....OR....TPS????

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2011, 03:11 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Throttle Actuator Motor....OR....TPS????

Howdy race fans......so how many of you have had any problems with your throttle position sensor or throttle actuator motor???? I ask because last week just as I was coming home from work right in front of my driveway I lost all throttle. The truck was running but no throttle. I have a Bully Dog Triple Dog GT, so I did a diagnostic, it gave Throttle position/pedal position malfunction, Throttle actuator forced idle and Throttle actuator stuck closed. I erased codes, started the truck back and has been fine ever since. Sooooo, after some research and being a mechanic myself and working in the automotive field I have come to a few conclusions but would like some feedback as well. First, according to Ford when a drive by wire vehicle poses these symptoms they recommend replacing the entire throttle body (cannot purchse actuator motor without entire body) and also the position sensor all togehtor. The throttle body is $343 and the sensor is $111. Now here is my dilemna, Out of the dealings I have had with a drive by wire failure, there is no possible fix without replacing the "problemed part". Now, like I said after erasing codes my truck has been just fine. If the throttle actuator motor was at fault erasing the codes would not have "fixed" it. If the motor recieves a DC voltage from the ECM and was at fault, it would not open the butterfly. If the TPS was at fault then the signal to the ECM would not be present. So could I have just had a glitch or the possibilty of having to replace the TPS or throtle body soon.......???? Has anyone had this issue????
Old 11-04-2011, 07:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts