Topic Sponsor
2004 - 2008 Ford F150 General discussion on the 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 truck.

brakes advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2011, 03:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default brakes advice

OK, so I know I need brakes. I have a warped rotor I can feel it when I apply the brakes. I have already had them turned once so I am going to have to replace them. I'm replacing the pads too. The dealership talked me into keeping the same set on once when they turned the rotors once before, won't make that mistake again. I don't need advice on what rotor to get or what pad to buy. I am not a mechanic and don't have the time to figure out how to do the brakes myself. I am smart enough to learn how to do it, but have other things going on in my life, so here is what I am going to get and have the shop put on for me. I am getting EBC solid rotors and EBC or Hawk pads. My question is what else do I need? Is there anything else the shop needs for a swap from factory crap to aftermarket quality stuff? I don't want to order just rotors and pads then find out I should have ordered some other stuff or an install kit. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
Old 07-08-2011, 04:09 PM

Received 125 Likes on 114 Posts

brake pad kit that comes with new sliders and pad springs.

edit:
http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/de...e+hardware+kit

when i did mine i replaced all the caliper sliders and bolts cause they were so rusty.

Last edited by flamehead16; 07-08-2011 at 04:17 PM.
Old 07-08-2011, 04:38 PM

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by makerstr20x
OK, so I know I need brakes. I have a warped rotor I can feel it when I apply the brakes. I have already had them turned once so I am going to have to replace them. I'm replacing the pads too. The dealership talked me into keeping the same set on once when they turned the rotors once before, won't make that mistake again.
Did you bed the pads in with the new rotors?