Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

First HU install: 2013 F-150XL

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2014, 10:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First HU install: 2013 F-150XL

Hello--

I'm a noob when it comes to car repairs (I did a few repairs, replacements, maintenance on my old Civic) etc. and I don't know much about wiring. I recently purchased a Boss BV9386NV head unit for my truck to replace the factory unit. Today, I successfully installed the new head unit, as well as a backup camera, which is wired to the HU.

Currently, the camera is set up to turn on when I shift to reverse, but I have to manually tell my head unit to goto the camera view, which works perfectly. However, when I first installed the camera, it would activate on the monitor immediately upon shifting to reverse. After doing a couple disconnects/reconnects so I could tweak the setup, it will no longer come on automatically and override the BOSS operating system on the monitor. What did I do to change that? ADDITIONALLY -- How do I get it to stay on, at all times, even if not in reverse, so I can bring it up on my monitor any time I want?

Again, I'm new at this stuff but after a lot of research on the internet, including reading lots of informative posts here, I've managed to get this thing mostly set up. Just trying to get the camera right. What am I doing wrong here? Any suggestions? Any help at all is appreciated.
  • I bought the standard wiring harness adapter, but I taped off the three steering-wheel control wires, as well as the amp turn-on wire.
  • I have the red wire running from the HU-end of the RCA-video cable connected to the reverse wire on the radio wiring harness.