Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation > Stereo/Audio
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2014, 09:40 PM   #111
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LastResort View Post
There probably aren't that many who have done it all, at least in comparison to those using the standard plus. And someone probably has, by building their own harness. If you were super ambitious, you might be able to take the plugs out the amp, find a manufacturer and part number on them, and see if you can get some samples. Or you could find a yard with right rig, and get them to hack off the OEM harness for you.

Those would be my paths.
yea i agree, i just want a plug to bypass the sony out and it letting me leave the sync on the center channel and powering the other speakers. But thinking about it now the tweeters are on there own seperate wires and the door speakers are as well....dam its getting more trouble than its worth!
13TuxEco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 02:03 PM   #112
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyo11Scab View Post
Ok this works. There is a brief clip there showing the screws in the glove box area. Looks like they've posted some pretty decent pdf instructions at the product page:
http://metraonline.com/part/99-5830B
http://metraonline.com/files/product...-5830B_web.pdf

I'm finding the mix between SAE and metric screws to be humorous. Both our previous daily drivers were all metric (01 mazda and 02 toyota) while my 40 year old mustang is obviously all standard. Is this a common thing on domestic vehicles nowadays?
__________________
2014 XLT SuperCrew Ecoboost, Bakflip G2, Bedrug, Lots of dirt already. Tows like a dream.
BStrummin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 11:29 AM   #113
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 28
Thanked 117 Times in 113 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BStrummin View Post
Ok this works. There is a brief clip there showing the screws in the glove box area. Looks like they've posted some pretty decent pdf instructions at the product page:
http://metraonline.com/part/99-5830B
http://metraonline.com/files/product...-5830B_web.pdf

I'm finding the mix between SAE and metric screws to be humorous. Both our previous daily drivers were all metric (01 mazda and 02 toyota) while my 40 year old mustang is obviously all standard. Is this a common thing on domestic vehicles nowadays?


yes but usually it is the engine and body that are different
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4 w/5.0 with SCT tune. JVC's in doors. 2 - 10" Kenwood subs under rear seat powered by JL Audio amp
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 01:31 PM   #114
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Thanks to all that have put the effort into this thread, kinda surprised that it has went quiet this fast....just confirming what's needed (I've got a '13 XLT w/ 4.2).

2x 70-5524
1x 71-5524
1x Inline amp of choice

and... that's it?

It's confirmed that the 2nd 70-5524 is needed for the extra pins to populate the first?

Thanks in advance for any answers/guidance!
ginnjuice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 10:39 PM   #115
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ginnjuice View Post
Thanks to all that have put the effort into this thread, kinda surprised that it has went quiet this fast....just confirming what's needed (I've got a '13 XLT w/ 4.2).

2x 70-5524
1x 71-5524
1x Inline amp of choice

and... that's it?

It's confirmed that the 2nd 70-5524 is needed for the extra pins to populate the first?

Thanks in advance for any answers/guidance!

Yes that is correct. In my case I only needed one pin to transfer. All factory sync options still work fine.

The only issue I am having now is I am getting the speaker pop when the amp turns off. I did not run the inline amp. I mounted a 5 channel behind the back seat. I contacted Alpine on the issue and they recommended running a separate remote wire as I am using speaker level inputs with the auto turn on feature on the alpine MRX-V70 amp. I havent figured out where to run the remote wire as of yet. If anyone has a solution, please post. I dont believe there is a wire on the back of the head unit to tap into that will work.
bwhf150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 11:54 PM   #116
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwhf150 View Post
Yes that is correct. In my case I only needed one pin to transfer. All factory sync options still work fine.

The only issue I am having now is I am getting the speaker pop when the amp turns off. I did not run the inline amp. I mounted a 5 channel behind the back seat. I contacted Alpine on the issue and they recommended running a separate remote wire as I am using speaker level inputs with the auto turn on feature on the alpine MRX-V70 amp. I havent figured out where to run the remote wire as of yet. If anyone has a solution, please post. I dont believe there is a wire on the back of the head unit to tap into that will work.
Search forum for Fuse 38.
mgp777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 01:36 PM   #117
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwhf150 View Post
Yes that is correct. In my case I only needed one pin to transfer. All factory sync options still work fine.

The only issue I am having now is I am getting the speaker pop when the amp turns off. I did not run the inline amp. I mounted a 5 channel behind the back seat. I contacted Alpine on the issue and they recommended running a separate remote wire as I am using speaker level inputs with the auto turn on feature on the alpine MRX-V70 amp. I havent figured out where to run the remote wire as of yet. If anyone has a solution, please post. I dont believe there is a wire on the back of the head unit to tap into that will work.
Thanks again for your input. My harnesses & amp are both in now, so I just want to confirm before I start soldering.

I've done installs before, but, always with aftermarket head units. I know the premise is the same, but I just want to make sure my thinking is right before I get started.

I haven't had my dash apart yet to look at the OEM harness, but, I am wondering, what pin did you have to transfer to your 70-5524?

Also, both the 70-5524 & 71-5524 came with 2 harness connectors, I'm also assuming that we only need the main connector with power & speakers, not the secondary harness that has what looks like extra speaker & perhaps some phone control wires?

See my diagram that I've thought out. I believe I've got it covered, with the exception being that transferred pin. I do not have power antenna, and I see that's a default pin on 70-5524.

Thanks again for input. Once I get this hashed out, I plan to take step-by-step pics of the wiring/install, for future reference for anyone else.


Click the image to open in full size.

Last edited by ginnjuice; 09-05-2014 at 01:41 PM.
ginnjuice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 06:10 PM   #118
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ginnjuice View Post
Thanks again for your input. My harnesses & amp are both in now, so I just want to confirm before I start soldering.

I've done installs before, but, always with aftermarket head units. I know the premise is the same, but I just want to make sure my thinking is right before I get started.

I haven't had my dash apart yet to look at the OEM harness, but, I am wondering, what pin did you have to transfer to your 70-5524?

Also, both the 70-5524 & 71-5524 came with 2 harness connectors, I'm also assuming that we only need the main connector with power & speakers, not the secondary harness that has what looks like extra speaker & perhaps some phone control wires?

See my diagram that I've thought out. I believe I've got it covered, with the exception being that transferred pin. I do not have power antenna, and I see that's a default pin on 70-5524.

Thanks again for input. Once I get this hashed out, I plan to take step-by-step pics of the wiring/install, for future reference for anyone else.


Click the image to open in full size.
Here are the pins needed for 70-5524/71-5524

LF+ = Pin 22 - WT
LF- = Pin 10 - WT/BK
RF+ = Pin 23 - GY
RF- = Pin 11 - GY/BK

LR+ = Pin 21 - GN
LR- = Pin 9 - GN/BK
RR+ = Pin 24 - VT
RR- = Pin 12 - VT/BLK
____________________

Batt = Pin 1
Start = Pin 3
ICAN+ = Pin 14
ICAN- = Pin 15
Gnd = Pin 13
mgp777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 06:42 PM   #119
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgp777 View Post
Here are the pins needed for 70-5524/71-5524

LF+ = Pin 22 - WT
LF- = Pin 10 - WT/BK
RF+ = Pin 23 - GY
RF- = Pin 11 - GY/BK

LR+ = Pin 21 - GN
LR- = Pin 9 - GN/BK
RR+ = Pin 24 - VT
RR- = Pin 12 - VT/BLK
____________________

Batt = Pin 1
Start = Pin 3
ICAN+ = Pin 14
ICAN- = Pin 15
Gnd = Pin 13

Thanks for this. I realized my masterpiece of a diagram was missing +12V switched, that' a given though. The 70-5524 come prepopulated with that wire @ Pin 7, I guess I need to move it to pin 3(currently unpopulated)?

Any recommendations on how to relocate pins without a release tool? Just jam a paperclip in the release slot & wiggle it around?

Thanks again!
ginnjuice is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ginnjuice For This Useful Post:
Wyo11Scab (Yesterday)
Old 09-05-2014, 11:44 PM   #120
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ginnjuice View Post
Thanks for this. I realized my masterpiece of a diagram was missing +12V switched, that' a given though. The 70-5524 come prepopulated with that wire @ Pin 7, I guess I need to move it to pin 3(currently unpopulated)?

Any recommendations on how to relocate pins without a release tool? Just jam a paperclip in the release slot & wiggle it around?

Thanks again!
Anything that you can fit into the slot will work. I used a dental pick.
mgp777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 11:44 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.