Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

Injectors cleaning

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2008, 02:13 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Unhappy Injectors cleaning

What would i need but the injectors metal seals for cleaning injectors? Looks like i have to do it manually, so i need to know if i'll need some new gaskets or anything. Here's the full story, it might help someone may be... At first my truck was running idle perfectly, but had some power issues whie driving. So i measured fuel pressure and after that i replaced fuel filter and both pumps (only pump motors, not the whole thing). The were no changes generally, it still was running low on gas (code 122), but from time to time it ran better with front pump then with rear pump, or opposite. I don't know about what it could depend on, because i'm not good with truck psychology. So i desided to find and clean the tank switching system. Thanks to Just Call Me Sean it was located. There is a valve in each tank, operated by fuel pressure coming from the pump, opening the fuel back line. My guess was that valve (or both) was stuck or not opening completely. Today i've removed one of pumps again, and figured out that the valve can't be diassembled for cleaning. So since i was pretty low on options, i couldn't find anything better than using some HiGear fuel system cleaner. So now my fuel lines must be perfectly clean, but all the dirt from the system is at the injectors. The truck is still running for now, but i think it's not for long. It already sounds like there are some misfires, and it's getting only worse. So my next step is removing my injectors and applying some of carb cleaner to each one of them. Thanks for reading, any help is greatly appriciated.

Last edited by Fast Hampster; 08-17-2008 at 02:17 PM.
Old 08-17-2008, 04:49 PM
We'd do it

Received 449 Likes on 402 Posts